Bloomsbury Street, Birmingham, B7 5BX
| 0121 464 2034

Article 28: Every child has the right to an education.

The Early Years Foundation Stage sets the standards for Learning, Development and Care for children from birth to five. It includes detailed information on the 7 areas of learning and development, and supporting children from birth through various stages of maturity and development.

Three prime areas underpin children’s learning:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development

As children grow they will be supported to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

Four themes unerpin effective practie in the care, development and learning of young children.

A Unique Child

Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured

Enabling Environments

The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person

Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Development are equally important and interconnected.

Our approach is dependent on the adult’s skills and knowledge of how children learn and is supported by a developmentally appropriate curriculum based on children’s interests and motivations.

The importance of play...

Play is a central part of young children’s learning. Through play, children explore ideas, feelings and relationships. They take risks, make mistakes and try things without fear of failure. Play can push out the limits of what is possible and help children to be creative, flexible and imaginative for sustained periods.